Skip to content
Comparison

Best AI Visibility Tracking Software in 2026: A Buyer's Checklist

The short answer

No single product is best for everyone, so score tools on seven points: platform coverage, prompt limits, history, competitor tracking, data export, sampling method and true monthly cost. Test two on your own prompt list for 14 days. Expect noisy numbers from every vendor, because AI answers change from run to run.

  • Score each tool on coverage, prompts, history, competitors, export, sampling and real monthly cost.
  • AI answers vary, so a tracker gives a sampled estimate, not a census. Judge trends, not single readings.
  • Entry prices start at $29 a month, but extra platforms and prompts can more than double the bill.
  • Test two tools on the same prompt list for 14 days before paying for a year.
  • Disclosure: Chalk Labs sells AI SEO services and has not tested these tools side by side.

What is the best AI visibility tracking software in 2026?

The best tool is the one that covers your buyers' assistants, fits your prompt list and costs what you can sustain. A seven-point scorecard beats a ranked list, because vendors differ on coverage and pricing more than on quality. This guide gives the scorecard, then the facts each vendor publishes.

AI visibility tracking software runs a fixed list of prompts through AI assistants on a schedule. It records whether your brand is named or linked in each answer. Our companion guide, AI visibility tracking tools compared, sorts tools into groups. This page helps you buy.

Disclosure: Rahil Jain runs the AI SEO programme at Chalk Labs, which sells AI SEO services. We do not sell tracking software. We have not run these products side by side, so everything below comes from vendor pages and published studies, checked on 20 October 2026.

Which one fits you?

Four questions to narrow the field. The result is a starting point. Always compare two real quotes.

SEO suite add-on

AI tracking inside a platform you may already use, such as Semrush or Ahrefs.

Best when
  • You already pay for an SEO suite.
  • You want one login and one invoice.
  • You also need rankings and backlinks.

Standalone tracker

A tool built for AI answers only, with plans that start low.

Best when
  • You want the cheapest start.
  • You only need prompt tracking.
  • You can try before you buy.

Free reports and a spreadsheet

Search Console, Bing Webmaster Tools and a hand-made prompt log.

Best when
  • You have no budget yet.
  • You track fewer than ten prompts.
  • You can check weekly by hand.

A short quiz

0 of 4 answered

Question 1 of 4Do you already pay for an SEO suite?
Question 2 of 4How many prompts do you need to track?
Question 3 of 4What is your monthly software budget?
Question 4 of 4Do you also need rankings and backlink data?

What do these tools actually measure?

They measure two things: mentions and citations. A mention means your brand name appears in the text of an AI answer. A citation means the answer links to your page or domain as a source 6. Many tools add a share-of-voice score, which compares your mentions with named competitors for the same prompts.

Neither number says whether the answer is right or good for you. A wrong mention counts the same as a correct one. Someone must read a sample of answers. Microsoft's Clarity documentation makes a similar point about scope: its citation dashboard tracks citations in AI answers only, not rankings, impressions or click-through rates 12.

How accurate are AI visibility numbers?

They are estimates from samples, and you should treat them as trends. An assistant may answer the same prompt differently each time, and personal history can change citations 11. A tracker sees only the runs it makes.

Vendors say as much. Bing states that its grounding-query data in AI Performance is a sample of overall citation activity 2. Profound's vendor study found that the prompts you choose matter more than how often you run them 10.

Rankings also tell you little. Ahrefs studied about 15,000 long-tail queries in 2025 and found that only about 12% of URLs cited by ChatGPT, Gemini, Copilot and Perplexity were in Google's top 10 for the same prompt, with Perplexity the outlier 11. So a good Google ranking does not predict an AI citation, and you need to track the answers themselves.

What seven points should you score every tool on?

Score each point from 0 to 2 for each shortlisted tool, then add them up. A tool that scores 0 on coverage or sampling should be cut, whatever its price. The example below shows the sums.

Worked scorecard for two imaginary tools (0 to 2 per point, 14 maximum)
  • Coverage: Tool A 2, Tool B 1 (no Perplexity)
  • Prompt limit: A 1, B 2
  • History: A 1, B 1
  • Competitors: A 2, B 1
  • Export: A 2, B 0 (no export)
  • Sampling method: A 1, B 1
  • True monthly cost: A 1, B 2
  • Totals: A 10, B 8. Rule: cut anything under 9 of 14, so Tool B is out. Keep A for the trial.
A seven-point buyer's scorecard for AI visibility tracking software
PointWhy it mattersAsk the vendorRed flag
Platform coverageYour buyers may use ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity or CopilotWhich assistants, and which are paid add-ons?Silence on Claude, AI Mode or Perplexity
Prompt limitLimits cap how many buyer questions you can watchHow many prompts, and per platform?Counts per platform hidden in small print
HistoryTrends need a baselineIs there backfill before I start?No history, no way to export it
CompetitorsShare of voice needs named rivalsHow many rivals can I track?Rivals limited to one or two
Export or APIYou may want your data in a sheetCSV, API or neither?No export at all
Sampling methodAnswers vary between runsHow often is each prompt run, and from where?No method page
True monthly costAdd-ons raise the billWhat is the total for my list on every platform?Entry price only, add-ons unlisted

What do the main vendors publish about their products?

This table lists what each vendor's own page says, checked on 20 October 2026. It is not a test or a ranking.

Vendor-published facts, checked 20 October 2026
ToolEntry pricePromptsPlatforms listedNotes
Otterly.AI$29 a month (Lite)15 on Lite, 100 on StandardChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot; AI Mode, Gemini, Claude as add-onsFree trial offered 7
Semrush$139 (SEO plan with AI search tracking) or $199 (Starter), monthly billing50 daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+Google Search, ChatGPT, Perplexity, GeminiIts Prompt Tracking article lists ChatGPT, AI Mode and Gemini only 34
Ahrefs Brand RadarFrom $199 a month; prompt packages from $50Package-based checksAI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Copilot, Perplexity, ChatGPT; Claude optionalSeparates mentions from citations 56
ProfoundNo public paid price50 prompts in a 7-day trialTrial: ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews; Enterprise up to 9 enginesCustom pricing 9
Peec AIPrices not listedNot statedChatGPT, Perplexity, GeminiEnterprise is custom 8
Microsoft ClarityNot stated on the pageNot statedCitations in AI answersNeeds domain verification 12

What will it really cost for your prompt list?

Work out the cost for your whole list on every platform you care about, then compare. Prompts are often counted per platform. Semrush says each campaign tracks one platform, so the same prompts on two platforms count twice, and that no history is back-filled before a campaign starts 4.

Take a worked example. You track 30 prompts on six platforms. On Otterly.AI's Standard plan at $189 a month, the four included platforms cover your list. Adding Google AI Mode and Gemini costs $59 each, so the total is $307 a month 7. Adding Claude would cost another $109 7. These are list prices before tax, and a second, lower price list appears on the page, probably for annual billing.

Which kind of tool suits which buyer?

Match the tool to your team, not to a brand name. If you already pay for an SEO suite, check its AI add-on first, since one login and one invoice save time. Semrush and Ahrefs both sell AI tracking inside their wider platforms 35.

If you want the cheapest start, a low-cost standalone tracker such as Otterly.AI's Lite tier suits a short prompt list 7. If you have a large budget and many markets, ask enterprise vendors like Profound for a quote, since it publishes no paid price 9. If you cannot spend yet, free reports from Google and Bing show part of the picture. Our Search Console versus AI tools guide explains what each shows.

How do you run a fair 14-day trial?

Give two tools the same prompts and compare them with a hand-made baseline. Build the list first with our prompt list builder, or follow our guide to building a prompt list.

Judge the tools on whether they show a gap you did not know about and can fix. A pretty dashboard is not a gap.

14-day trial script (copy and adapt)
  • Day 1: write 20 buyer prompts and save your own hand-run answers as the baseline.
  • Day 1: load the same 20 prompts into both trial tools.
  • Day 3: score each tool on how closely its mentions match your baseline.
  • Day 7: check that the rivals you expect are the ones named.
  • Day 14: export a report from each. No export means a lower score.
  • Day 14: add each tool's trial score to the seven-point scorecard and keep the higher total.

Where does Chalk Labs fit?

We do not sell tracking software and this page does not use affiliate links. We do sell services. Strategic Consulting costs $1,000 one-time and gives you a plan to carry out. Strategic Execution costs $3,000 a month and includes an AI-visibility audit across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and Google AI Mode, plus 100 answer pages. Deep Execution costs $4,000 a month and scales that to 200 pages. We do not guarantee rankings, citations or lead counts.

If you only need measurement, buy a tool or use the free reports. If you also need a plan and pages, an expert such as Rahil Jain may help. Compare us with other providers using our guide to hiring an AI SEO expert.

Frequently asked questions

How much does AI visibility tracking software cost?

Entry plans start at $29 a month for 15 prompts on Otterly.AI Lite 7 and $199 a month on Semrush Starter with 50 prompts 3. Extra platforms and prompts raise the cost. Profound lists no public paid price 9.

Are AI visibility scores reliable?

They are useful as trends, not exact counts. AI answers vary between runs, and tools see only the runs they make 11. Profound found daily tracking close to ten-times-daily tracking, but prompt choice mattered more 10.

Do I need a paid tool to see my AI visibility?

Not at first. Google points owners to the Search Console generative AI report 1, and Bing Webmaster Tools has an AI Performance report in public preview 2. A paid tool adds ChatGPT and Perplexity coverage.

Which AI platforms should a tracker cover?

Cover the assistants your buyers use. At Otterly.AI, Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini are paid add-ons, and coverage differs by vendor 74. Ask each vendor for the exact list before you buy.

Does Chalk Labs sell tracking software?

No. Chalk Labs sells AI SEO services, including an AI-visibility audit in its $3,000 a month Strategic Execution plan. We have a commercial interest in advice about hiring help, so compare us with other providers and with doing it yourself.

About the author

Rahil Jain

Rahil Jain is an AI SEO (answer engine and generative engine optimisation) consultant and co-founder of Chalk Labs.

LinkedIn · Method and credentials

Sources

  1. Optimizing your website for generative AI features on Google Search · Google Search CentralOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: Use the generative AI performance report in Search Console to measure visibility in Google's AI features. Page last updated 2026-07-10.
  2. Introducing AI Performance in Bing Webmaster Tools Public Preview · Microsoft Bing Webmaster BlogOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: Report shows citations in Copilot, Bing AI summaries and partners; grounding queries are a sample of citation activity; launched 10 February 2026.
  3. Semrush pricing · SemrushOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: SEO plan $139; Starter $199 a month (50 prompts daily) and Pro+ $299 (100) on monthly billing; platforms Google Search, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini. No effective date shown.
  4. How to build an AI visibility dashboard with Semrush · SemrushOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: Prompt Tracking supports ChatGPT, Google AI Mode and Gemini; one platform per campaign so prompts count per platform; no backfill. Published 12 October 2026.
  5. Ahrefs pricing · AhrefsOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: Brand Radar from $199 a month; custom prompt packages from $50 a month.
  6. Brand Radar · AhrefsOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: Platforms covered; Claude optional; definitions of mentions (name in answer text) and citations (links to your pages).
  7. Otterly.AI pricing · Otterly.AIOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: Lite $29 (15 prompts), Standard $189 (100); included platforms; add-ons AI Mode $59, Gemini $59, Claude $109 on Standard; free trial. A second lower price list also appears.
  8. Peec AI pricing · Peec AIOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: Starter, Pro, Advanced listed without prices; tracks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini; Enterprise custom.
  9. Profound pricing · ProfoundOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: Free trial: 50 prompts for 7 days on ChatGPT, Gemini and AI Overviews; Enterprise custom, up to 9 answer engines; no public paid price.
  10. Is once a day enough? · ProfoundOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: 753 prompts across 7 US platforms, 1 to 14 June 2026; once a day close to ten times a day; prompt mix matters more. Vendor study.
  11. AI search overlap: how AI assistants' citations compare with Google and Bing · AhrefsOpened October 20, 2026. Supports: About 15,000 long-tail queries; about 12% of cited URLs in Google's top 10; Perplexity at 28.6%; personalization and history can change citations. Published 11 August 2025.
  12. Citation Dashboard Overview · Microsoft Learn (Clarity)Opened October 20, 2026. Supports: Clarity's citation dashboard tracks citations in AI answers only, not rankings, impressions or click-through rate; domain verification required. Page updated September 2026.
How this page was made. Built on Rahil Jain's AI SEO method and drafted with AI research assistance. Every statistic links to the page we read it on (opened October 20, 2026 or nearby). Published October 20, 2026; last updated October 20, 2026. Chalk Labs sells AI SEO services, so we have a commercial interest in this topic. Spotted an error? Tell us and we will fix it.